← All ideas
  • Published 2 Jan 2021

Do NOT reconnect Shader Editor input to next slot when connecting to occupied slot

youtube.com/embed/76jv17kMuAA

As the title says, Blender comes with incredibly infuriating "feature" where when user connects something to already occupied Shader Editor node input, the previous input gets connected to next slot of the same type, instead of disconnected.

It makes absolutely no sense for an uncommon behavior to be default one. The amount of cases where the user actually want to reconnect existing input into other slot instead of replacing it is miniscule. This also goes against common sense based behavior of pretty much any other node based software out there.

This behavior can not be disabled in any way, and serves mostly to frustrate users.

Either:

A: Ideally, remove this feature altogether.

B: At least give is an option to turn it off.

81.8%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 18 Downvote 4
rawalanche
2 Jan 2021

6 Comments

lsscpp

I'd keep the current behaviour just for when you already have two connections: the moment you grab one and plug it into the other input "probably" you want to swap them. In other cases "probably" you just want to replace that one connection. So yes, with just 1 exception

1
rawalanche Author

* @ Lsscpp * This is not true. This sometimes applies to BSDF Mix nodes, but there are so, so many other nodes with two inputs of same type, where it's equally as undesired.

The bottom line is just that it's not possible to assume what user wants to do. Not even with state of the art AI. So there should not be any mechanism which produces undesired result/error in majority of cases.

Even if it worked in as many of 50% of cases, which it does not, the unreliability/uncertainty is still much worse than always knowing what will happen.

peter.boos

* @rawalanche * Partly true, i often want to mix it otherwise. However on node types where thats not ideal it removing it would be better. So probaply all non math / mixer nodes. So for those 50% i recomend to fix it and leave the rest as is.

rawalanche Author

* @peter.boos * No, that just makes no sense whatsoever. Even in case of Mix nodes, you just can not assume what action user wants to do. And it's a lot better to not do anything then to do something wrong.

That's like saying that in some cases, users in text editors click on a new line to delete its contents, so clicking on new line should automatically delete it, and if you did not desire that, you can always just undo it.

If someone is so deformed by using Blender, then this option should remain a preference toggle, But for majority of people who aren't, this really needs to go away.

If it was ever a good idea, you'd see this behavior in at least some of the other software which uses nodes.

peter.boos

* @rawalanche * Disagree, just take the best of both worlds is my point

bedrossian

or probably it should be bound to a shortcut to do the reconnection and by default it should disconnect the old node