Load UI should have the option to override the UI settings of a file permanently
One of my biggest gripes with using Blender is how the UI is always different in every Blender file. Right now it is possible to not load the UI of a file by unchecking one box by going to File -> Open... -> Toggle Region (cogwheel icon) -> Load UI.
This is however not sufficient. You have to uncheck this box every single time you wish to open the same file, which completely misses the point of wanting it off in the first place. I have files that go all the way back to the 2.80 Alpha and when I open them the UI placement is so extremely outdated compared to my modern setup that it becomes inefficient to go back and work on them when everything is not properly placed.
Therefore I ask for the Load UI checkbox functionality to get an upgrade. Here's how I expect it to work:
-
Move the feature to Preferences... -> Interface -> "UI [checkbox] Load From File". This helps explain the feature better and is easier to find. The current cogwheel option is not even present in the File Browser, so it is only accessible when going to File -> Open...
-
Blender remembers if the checkbox is on or off. If it is on it will load the UI from the file. If it is not it will load the default UI instead.
-
A new checkbox option which will be called "UI [checkbox] Override File". This option will permanently override all saved UI settings in favour of the default UI. When opening a file with old UI it will ask if you want to override it in case you wish to save it for some reason. This will allow you to go back and deactivate this option if you don't desire it.
3 Comments
Sorry, it's not very clear how #1 is different from this?
It doesn't work for me. Still loads the UI from the file every time.
Load UI in the Open window overrides this setting completely and I can't get it checked off by default.
I imagine, that like myself, most users have gone to the time and effort to establish a default file that they enhances their workflow. I can't though figure out why anyone wouldn't want that to always be the default, either starting up or just doing File --> New. In addition, if you choose Open Recent, you don't get the option to not load the UI.
It seems to me that the simplest solution would be: have two checkboxes. One option for the Default UI and one for opening other .blend files.
I for one, would seldom, if ever, uncheck loading me Default UI.