Delete Hierarchy should be the default when deleting, not Delete
When deleting a parent object, I expect all the children objects to be deleted aswell. At the moment, it feels like you spill water and have to clean up when deleting a parent with all its children spewn all over. This is bad UX.
If I wanted to delete a parent object without children, my instinct is to drag the children out of the parent object and delete it then. I can see how a shortcut for that is a good feature, but this should not be the default behavior.
4 Comments
Agree. It's currently the opposite of all OS file managers and most major apps. You delete the folder, it deletes the content. Current delete UX adds cognitive load.
Absolutely yes!
Disagree. When you delete, and deleted something, that you didn't select it is loss of data. It can be side project from other ppl, you don't know the structure. So delete should delete selected. There should be hotkey to select all children hidden children shouldn`t be selected in this case, or option to unhide and select even hidden objects bc you must see and control what you delete
Isn't it absurd to think that when you delete a folder on your computer, all its contents should somehow magically remain? This concept makes no sense to me, especially considering the user experience standards we're accustomed to. It's just a bizarre and outdated remnant