Safety failback
When rendering theres no file overwriting safe mechanic last time i rendered something for several hours then i did video editing and rendered again and i overwrote the previous render result blender didnt care at all
When rendering theres no file overwriting safe mechanic last time i rendered something for several hours then i did video editing and rendered again and i overwrote the previous render result blender didnt care at all
3 Comments
docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/render/output/properties/output.html has a overwrite option for image sequences. This can be disabled.
Disable
Overwrite:The overwrite checkbox does not do the same thing. 'View/Viewport Render Animation' saves files to the render output path with render settings, which is very useful. You create files that you can use for precompositing and prediting templates that automatically replace with render files later.
Everything looks fine for now, but imagine hitting the "Viewport animation render" and forgetting to change the output path. Without permission, many rendered images will overwrite with preview images.
Even if you have backup files, it wastes time to find and restore lost frames.
The only thing needed is "Viewport Render Animation" open a popup window and ask for confirmation to overwrite if there is already any image file in the output path to avoid mistakes.