← All ideas
  • Published 18 Sep 2018

'File->Load Factory Settings' should not reset the scene (always)

Imagine you have created a scene in Blender 2.8 Alpha. A few versions later the UI has changed (alot) you want this new UI but when loading the blender file only the older/modified UI gets loaded. You can use 'File->Load Factory Settings' to reset the UI but it will also reset the scene with a cube. I can imagine that this is not what everybody always wants. Then you can chose to load the blender file without loading the UI.

It would be much easier (especially for new users) if 'File->Load Factory Settings' can at least offer the option to keep the loaded scene (although I think this should be the default behavior and what 'File->Load Factory Settings' currently does is maybe the job of 'File->New').

Alternative: To have an option to reset all the UI settings without touching anything else.

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 4 Downvote 0
roccoor
18 Sep 2018

2 Comments

simonstoschu

Not a bad Idea, though I feel with the new 2.8 Topbar that enables you to easily restore default Workspaces, it's less of a priority than it would have been in 2.7

Draise

Yes, I wish the preserved the scene.