Apply Modifier Without Making Mesh "Single User" When Data is Shared
When working with parts of an object that are gonna be the same object copied elsewhere, sometimes you need to apply a modifier without wanting to make it a single user. Why can't applying the modifier just update the existing vertex data?
4 Comments
Applying a modifier to a linked duplicate (just like applying any transform) essentially means modifying the vertex data, and invitably makes it different from the other duplicates, which is why you can't.
But I definitely understand what you mean, I already experienced this feeling, and I think truly what should be changed (or added) is an option to overwrite the new data to all duplicates, just like it would happen if you went into edit mode on any duplicates and started modifying the mesh.
The Warning message would still show, but the option would be : 'Apply', 'Overwrite', 'Cancel' or something like that. Hope this will be implemented someday!
I think sethalexanderquick means "apply modifiers to all shared instances of the mesh". So basically more like an extra apply modifier(s) to all shared button in addition to the regular one.
That's what I was trying to say but you said it very efficiently haha
Yeah, I didn't actually consider the modifiers would be on all those objects as well. Perhaps doing an action on a modifier like that would just apply it for all duplicates instead of making it a single user with some sort of checkbox.