More safe closing Blender - two little ideas. Maybe three.
In fact, I am not shure, if it is a idea for Blender, or rather a bug...
-
When we try to close Blender by klicking the Close window button (the one with "X" sign), a little window apears, with two options: OK, and Cancel. I think it would be good idea to add there one more button with "Save" option. When we klick it, we can save current project, an then close Blender automatically.
-
When we open System Console window, and then close it by klicking the Close window button, ALL the Blender is closing WITHOUT any warning. It is very unsafe and I think, it is very wrong, because we can lose all our work accidentally. I think, there are two ways to fix it:
2a. When we try to close the System console window, it should only close the System console, but not entire Blender
or
2b. When we try to close the System console window, the warning window with options to Close, Save or Cancel should appear.
- When we close Blender by choosing menu File/Quit - it also closes Blender without saving option. I think, there should apperar window with Save, Quit and Cacel options, too.
I think, the three options should make our work a litle bit safer.
1 Comment
I'm not sure, but I think that there's a multi-platform complication that would prevent a Save button from being functional on the closing pop-up (if you enable such an abomination ;).
As for shutting down when you close the system console, that may be an oversight, but that's also why Blender's default is to launch with the console hidden. The assumption is that if you're looking at the system console, you're not likely to close it from there. Also, this may be another one of those multi-platform complications.