← All ideas
  • Published 11 Dec 2018

Disable Save File if nothing has changed / Add "saved file" message to console output

Just disable "Save File" if nothing has changed in the open blend file. Sometimes I have multiple programs open and work on x projects at the same time, checking mails in between and take a quick look at the latest blender video on youtube. When coming back to blender I don't have any indication of the save state of my blend file. So I always wonder "did I save this already?" and end up saving it just to be sure. Other software does just disable "Save" if nothing has changed (Photo$hop for instance).

Also there is feedback in the console when I open a file: "Read blend: filename.blend" but nothing for saving files.

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 7 Downvote 0
ronald
11 Dec 2018

4 Comments

bestelix

An indication for save status is the asterisc (Blender*) in the window top bar. At least for WinOS. But yes saving is performed regardless.

Gustav.Krause

I am using the 2.80 Beta (Hash: 26d5a3625ed) and there is an "Info: Saved "yourname.blend" " print in the "System Console" when saving.

ronald Author

@Gustav.Krause: Thanks, it should be in the 2.79.x builds too.

ronald Author

@ronald.engelhardt: So I checked for 2.8 Beta (OSX) - no save message in the console.