YES and NO instead of SAVE and DON'T SAVE
When exiting Blender, the "Save changes before closing?" pop-up appears and you can hit S to save or D to not save, and it's too easy to hit the wrong key by mistake, because they are next to each other on keyboard. My suggestion is to replace "Save" and "Don't save" texts with simple "YES" and "NO" and assign Y and N keys accordingly. That would make it less likely to lose your work by mis-aiming. Obviously, I could just click a box instead of pressing a letter, but as a blenderhead, hotkeys are flowing in my veins (I have high concentration of Blender hotkeys in my blood, this has been confirmed by medical tests).
5 Comments
SAVE / DON'T SAVE is descriptive. Yes / No is partially interpretative and thus inherently more unsafe.
Okay, so maybe it should be left the way it is but with the possibility to assign and change hotkeys for the answers? So I could swap S/D (which many times has made me lose progress due to a mishit) with Y/N.
FWIW if you quit without saving Blender will save the file anyways in a temporary folder. You can find it out with File > Recover > Last Session
I've always used ⏎ Enter / Esc x)
The issue here is that we have three choices: Save, Don't Save, and Cancel. It isn't a simple yes/no question, and the Cancel is necessary for unwanted closure requests.
I'm not suggesting the removal of CANCEL. It should stay with its assigned C key, and that could work just like any other software. We would then choose between Y, N and C, that are all 2-3 keys apart on keyboard.