Overwrite Warning/Confirmation Pop Up
On multiple occasions I have, when trying to import a model, accidentally hit export without noticing and so I will go over to the model I want to import and double-clicked it, overwriting the model and losing it forever. There ought to be a prompt to confirm if you want to overwrite something. I know that the File Name field turns red but you are going to let people save over something with a double-click then you should know that people doing so are probably not paying attention to the File Name field.
It's been a standard quality of life feature across a vast majority of programs for decades. Why doesn't Blender have it?
4 Comments
yep, red box for me just indicating that there is file with same name not that it will overwrite file forever
its quite jarring that blender doesn't warn the user of potentially malicious actions in regards to overwriting previous work. Could be an option to turn on in the settings. "Prompt before overwrite" - if blender insists on this strange behaviour the option could be off by default - but i think its better to have it on by default. Would be surprised if more than 10% of users are happy with the no-prompt mentality.
I lost too many files with that same exact issue !
5 minutes ago, I wanted to save a render, By clicking on a directory to open it, I clicked one time too much and replaced an existing png with no confirmation or anything. I could only see that I replaced something, and have not clue what that even was.
That menu interface is simply unsafe ! Red coloring is not enough to prevent accidental maneuver, import and export look too similar too.
Adding a popup would prevent so many unnecessary accidents !
I would like to add the following, as it applies to several other occasions also..
I would love to see a confirmation popup if I want to overwrite an existing file whenever I start rendering an animation that has the same output folder as an earlier rendered animation that Blender gave the same filename. Same thing for whenever I just save a regular Blender file that has the exact same name as an already existing file.
This has cost me some rendered animations that took hours and hours and sometimes even days to complete. I'm pretty sure that I'm not the only person who did the same thing I did.