save default startup file 'UI only'
Often I create a new workspace during working on a file, and would like to have that workspace always available in new files. I can't use save default startup file, because that also adds the scene geometry and what not to the default startup blend file.
I think a 'UI only' option should be added to the save startup file operator, so that nothing but the UI gets changed in the existing startup file.
Perhaps better still, there could be a list of options of what you want writing to the startup file, in the form of the following checkboxes:
UI Only
Objects
Geometry
Particles
Materials
Scripts
Actions
Node Trees
Scenes
ETC
With the option to:
REPLACE ALL - selected elements of current blend file completely replaces old startup file elementes of the same type, existing elements are initially removed from the startup file.
ADD - add elements from this file to the startup file, only if they're not present in the startup file already OR if they are present in the startup file, but are different in the current file.
1 Comment
What about opening the startup file and appending the parts that you want? This is already doable and doesn't require any development.
Adding more options when saving a startup file would also increase the possibility that a startup file can get corrupted and Blender won't be able to start and you need to remove your startup file. increasing support to help users fix their startup file etc.
I am not against this, but seems like adding more complexity and work, to support a better workflow, not knowing all the consequences up front.