Save Confirmation Dialogue Box (For files with same file name)
I would like to suggest that Blender should have a confirmation dialogue box for saving files that have the same file name as the user has typed.
This small idea can greatly improve or reduce accidentally overwriting files with the same file name.
For example, Let's say I have a file name called "scene_01.blend" and I have saved that file in a specific folder. Then I later create another file and for some reason or the other it also has the file name "scene_01.blend" in the same folder. Having a confirmation dialogue box can prompt me with a text as follows:
"This file already exists, would you like to overwrite the existing file?", and there should be two options, yes and no or cancel.
Please consider this suggestion,
Thank you.
2 Comments
Tbh i'm always annoyed if programs do have such dialogues. I personally prefer the more subtle version of it, like blender does: simply marking the naming field red. However i agree that some users may benefit from it (the dialogue).
The red text field is nice but even with this it's dangerously easy to simply save over by accident via muscle memory. The annoyance isn't much of an obstacle because you usually only save over once and then Ctrl+S every subsequent save from then on.
Chiefly this isn't consistent with industry standard: essentially every other software asks if you want to save over. IMO it's more important that work-saving features like this do exactly what the user expects rather than remove one very small annoyance that's there to protect your work.