Auto Save default settings
Can we make auto-save enabled with a few versions (let's say around 5 or 10) the default setting when installing blender?
Is anybody running out disk space these days from having a few versions of their blender project saved? To me it seems like this should be the default behaviour.
2 Comments
Blender already autosaves every two minutes out of the box, which is already too frequent for lots of people. Some people might want to have the option to choose the number of autosaves it can keep, 2 could be a safe measure in case Blender crashes while autosaving and corrupts the current autosave: at least you might have another older one. I'm fairly certain this is already in one feature request here.
But more than that sounds frankly overkill to me:
Autosave is a good solution for reducing data loss when a crash occurs, not to keep track of old work.
Not to mention that some productions actually disable it on the pipeline level and prefer enforcing sane saving practices combined with versioning systems. Especially on big projects, because the time you lose just waiting for big files to be auto-saved and then get back in the flow of work can be easily too much for what it's worth.
TL;DR:
Having the option to chose how many autosaves to keep might be a nice-to-have feature, but defaulting it to more than 2 is most likely overkill, and not the right solution for lots of people anyway.
I threw out 30gb of just blender TEMP files this weekend that kept accumulating. Having blender automatically save 10 versions back would start to be an issue.
I don't believe it's a heavy ask for the user to incrementally save your own files, when needed.