← All ideas

'SAVE COPY AS' may duplicate entire project folder (-Save Copy In- on Pro Tools)

Save Copy In it's a very handy option on Pro Tools that allows you to make a copy of the whole project folder, very useful to make backups, moving the project to another drive, etc. It should create a copy of all the sub folders as the original has, the files in them, .blends, etc.

Also, it allows you to chose if you what to copy ALL the files, or ONLY the ones being in use. Say for example I created a sub-folder called "TEXTURES" where I downloaded all the possible textures I would try. If I chose to copy only active elements, It should create the same folder, but only with the in-use textures. This means there should be a definition of what it's considered -in use- for other elements, but filter on Outliner may be enough.

It could have a View Layer / Scene selector so you can separate on different project folders your scenes or layers, if needed.

This is Pro tools reference manual, page 166 through 170 details Save Copy In functions, if it helps understanding. resources.avid.com/SupportFiles/PT/Pro_Tools_Reference_Guide_2018.12.pdf

50%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 1 Downvote 1
pk.m.fisto
27 Dec 2020

1 Comment

Lauloque

Also some software propose you to choose between keeping the folder structure, or making a new standardized one.