← All ideas
  • Published 7 Jul 2026

Consider Undo History navigation as a change

If I save a .blend file and then navigate the Undo History, it doesn't cause an asterisk to appear in the title bar. That means I can proceed to close Blender or open another file, and I won't get a prompt about unsaved changes. This behavior is not what I have learned to expect from commonplace software such as Microsoft Paint. Is there a reason for it?

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 2 Downvote 0
avery3
7 Jul 2026

4 Comments

pablovazquez

By default, Blender comes with 32 undo steps.

If navigation is considered undo step, you'll quickly run out of them, or write over important undo steps. For that you'd need a separate stack but that's another proposal.

maxime1

Hi Pablo, I think you misunderstood the statement of this post, and he actually talks about a problem that could potentially be considered as a bug:

Undoing an action, whether it is through the shortcut CTRL + Z or through the Undo History (and he meant picking an action in the list of the Undo History, not navigating the view in the 3D viewport), the blender file doesn't consider an action has been made, meaning you can accidentally close your blend file right after an Undo, and you won't get the pop-up screen that asks you if you want to save or not; it will straight up close and you will lose that "Undo" action.

maxime1

Yet I'm still unsure on how to consider an undo as an "action" since the core principle of undoing is to go back actions, and you can still undo the undo. Undo should not be considered an action internally, but it should probably still ask you if you want to save the file or not ?