Clarify Preference Actions
The new preference buttons text is quite ambiguous.
Reasoning:
-
"Revert Preferences" - This doesn't tell us which preferences it will revert or to what state they will be reverted
-
"Revert Factory Preferences" - Revert Factory Preferences... It sounds like we're reverting "factory preferences". Wouldn't we want to revert Blender's Preferences? Or is Blender considered a factory?
I kid, but my proposed changes are available below:
Possible variations for each of the buttons - (x|y|z) means select one word - [x] means optional all together
-
(Revert|Undo|Reset|Discard) unsaved (changes|preferences|settings|options),
-
(Reset|Revert) [all] (changes|preferences|settings|options) [to default],
Pick your poison. Personally though, I like the ones in the picture. I think they deliver the message the clearest.
2 Comments
personally i think it's clear, but some additional clarification wouldn't hurt I suppose. only feedback would be some other string than "Undo Unsaved", reads like a double-negative and hurts my brain.
* @testure * Ah, I see where you're coming from! I like the word undo personally because it's the opposite of do. It's also commonly used in software so it feels familiar. But yes, indeed it can sound confusing, perhaps "Discard unsaved changes", "Revert unsaved changes" or just "Undo/Discard changes" would be better?