← All ideas
  • Published 1 Aug 2019

Can we prevent saving over files

I accidentally clicked a saved file that was NOT the one I meant to save over. Blender saved over it without the typical warning message that pops up on any other program I've every used. If you could add that warning message and button to say "yes" or "no" to overwriting the file, that would be great. Thanks!

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 13 Downvote 0
mind.read
1 Aug 2019

11 Comments

SpookyDoom

The thing I wonder is ... since people have different preferences about dialogue boxes: Would a system where the user can decide which confirmation dialogues they want to see be a good idea?

Modo also does this, but I think they don't have the usability quite nailed down. For every confirmation box you can say:

  • yes
  • no
  • use 'yes/no' and never show this dialogue again until reset.

The god thing is that for everybody who dislikes the confirmation they can just be dismissed forever. The bad thing in their system is that when you want to see dialogues again you have to reset all warnings to be shown again and then reset the preferred answer again (as far as I know).

How about if Blender added a 'System dialogues' box in the System Preferences where you can set the preference for the popup dialogues individually?

I remember that there actually were people who were not in favor of a 'save before quit' confirmation, either: Image

1
Scaredyfish

The original file will be saved with the extension .blend1

You can extend this in preferences under save and load->save versions which will create .blend1 .blend2 .blend3

1
somethingoutthere2190

I wish this is an option. Today, I was typing way too fast, I accidently saved over my file. I don't tend to use save versions because they cluttered way too much and they don't delete overtime.

SpookyDoom

Yes - I'd also like to see this included. And it certainly does more good than harm.

Vyach

without the typical warning message

In the file browser it shows RED BACKGROUND and it is warning. Did you ignore it? And yes, there is a backup, as Scaredfish said.

Alex-D

* @ Vyacheslav * a red background can be ignored or overlooked way too fast if you're just using muscle memory. But wasn't there an option to have an optional warning dialogue for saving over an existing file?

2
Vyach

* @motionblur.of.doom * warning dialogue can be ignored too with Enter/Y. So don`t ignore. And set 2+ for blend-backups

Alex-D

* @ Vyacheslav * You have another layer of confirmation with a dialogue that you don't have with just a red background. You need to double confirm instead of just saving over.

Another option would be to count up from the highest incremental save automatically instead of overwriting but that doesn't work as easy since Blender doesn't differentiate between regular save and incremental.

Josephbburg

Using version control is also a good way of preventing this.

Alex-D

* @ Vyacheslav * From experience again. A red background is not going to cut it when you are working quick. This one goes hand in hand with an incremental save button where people keep saying: "But you have the [+] Key increment when saving as new file."

Yes. And when invoking the save as dialog the mouse cursor sometimes is not in the file hierarchy display but in the options or shortcuts. So what [Ctrl-Shift-S] > [+] > [Enter] does is: Invoke dialog > make side panel slightly bigger > Save over the same file anyways (but it was marked red).

(Damn - I just replied for the third time. Sorry XD - it really does bother me often it seems)

2
FalconCreates

* @motionblur.of.doom * This is also a problem for me. I totally agree with you.