Load UI improvements (per-file option)
Currently, when opening Blend files, the UI in the files either loads or not, depending on what setting is set in the preferences.
If you want to keep your UI and open a file, you need to change the preference an re-open blender. If you want the opposite, then you need to re-do these steps again. You also don't have any indication whether the Blend file creator intended for the UI to be loaded or not.
I believe that each file should have the option to force-load its UI or not. Blender Preferences should add an option to respect this per-file choice, always load UI, or never load UI.
On another note, maybe also give the users the option to delete UI instead of packing it in the file. This would make Asset Browser files lighter, and it would also protect the UI if the users don't want to share it.
2 Comments
No. You can already override the preference when opening a file from the file browser:
That's good to know, Thank you Pablo. But even then, if I want to open another file and keep my current session, I have to open a new instance of Blender, go to "Open File" and navigate to the file. instead of just double-clicking the file in my explorer and getting the desired behavior that I already saved with the file.