← All ideas
  • Published 3 Jul 2019

Proposal : warning alert "another user has opened this file"

Hello I'm working on a project of an animated series, coordinating it remotely.

We are using Dropbox so we can share files and links assets, rigs, ecc. Sometimes it could happen that more people open the same file at the same.

We saw that there is no warning message like "read only" or ""another user is using this file".

What do you think about adding some warning alert to prevent two or more users work in the same file at the same time, saving different versions on top of each other?

75%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 3 Downvote 1
luca.dicecca
3 Jul 2019

3 Comments

raidondev

I would suggest using version control like Perforce for projects. By default Blender has no way of telling when a user is working on the same file as someone else. You can open infinite* instances of Blender at once and they will always be separate instances.

Version control will be your best choice in this situation. My team using it to avoid similar conflicts and it works great!

*Disclaimer: Not sure if its infinite, but Blender can be opened as many times as your computer can handle.

2
jason

* @Vadonis * Agreed. Dropbox is a bad idea for this. Proper version control (Subversion, Mercurial, Perforce... even Git) is a more effective approach for collaborative work.

3
1COD

Apache Subversion

1