Duplicate Annotations Instead of Linking When Duplicating Node Trees
Right now, if your node tree already has an annotation and you duplicate it, the annotation will be shared between the node trees.
I find this kind of sharing may not be desired, because while you can change the node setup completely, you can’t change the annotation freely. If you wipe one, you wipe the other. It forces you to take an extra step to make the annotation a single user. Nevertheless, this requirement is not obvious to users. By the time they find out, the old annotation may already be gone in the original node tree.
Therefore, I think the annotation shouldn’t be linked at the beginning upon duplication. The duplication should be a full duplication in this manner, to allow users to change both the node setup and the annotation completely without backfire.
4 Comments
This would actually improve my workflow a lot. I often end up doing extra clicks for something that feels like it should be quicker.
Even a small shortcut or toggle for this would make Blender feel much smoother during long sessions.
Think this is an oversight as annotations are linked from the node-tree the duplication code doesn't consider it to be part of the node-tree. Will check with Bastien about this.
Hi, is there any news to it?
This is a nobrainer imo, I see very little reason why an annotation would be linked between two different node trees.