Leave Vertices Selected After Deleting Edges or Faces
Let's say you start with the default cube and you select 4 connected vertices on one of the sides. Then you press X → E or X → F to delete the edges (and the face) or just the face.
Those 4 vertices are still there, unchanged, except now they are no longer selected. Why? I don't know but it seems wrong to me. If I wanted to deselect them I could easily press alt-A or whatever, whereas I cannot easily get that selection back (without undoing the deletion).
Just because I have deleted the edge(s) or face(s) doesn't necessarily mean I am done with those vertices. I might want to delete a face before extruding, for example. This problem gets worse the more complex the selection is.
I suggest leaving the selection intact, or adding a "Reselect" function which can be used after any such functions that modify the selection implicitly.
2 Comments
I'm usually able to find a workaround to reselect with something in Select Similar or Select by Trait, but it would be really useful to leave vertices selected by default, or have an option to reselect them.
I thought for sure there was an operator panel after deleting components that had a checkbox where you could choose to keep the relevant components selected. Apparently it does not exist for deletion but is exists for other things.