Lock Camera To View should be enabled by default (and possibly renamed?)
If I was a new user, when I click on the Camera icon to look through the camera, I would naturally expect to be able to move it around. It would be rather frustrating to have to open Blender for the first time, click on the Camera icon, and then have to Google "how to move camera in blender".
Much better that they get to move it straight away, and then later find out how to lock it (which actually means unlock it, but you know what I mean).
A separate question - do you think "Lock camera to view" is a confusing phrase? Because the camera DOESN'T move when it's not locked, and it DOES move when it's locked. Even as an experienced user, I often get confused for a split second, and turn the checkbox off when I actually want it on!
Couldn't the terminology be reversed, so that it just says "Lock camera", and that it turns the movement OFF when you tick it, rather than ON?
2 Comments
I made the same request in the UI Papercuts thread recently. This seems like a really obvious thing.
Part of this problem for me was that Blender defaults to a single 3d view. In Maya when I first tried it, it defaulted to quad view so i could set one view to look through the camera and use the other 3 views to move the camera object around, no problem. I also wish it was easier/less clicks to have multiple cameras and easily switch which one you're looking through. In the render window there should be a list of cameras to choose from and a render button.