Add a preference for Auto Fake User.
The whole data block concept and the idea that you could accidentally lose data such as materials, actions or images in the texture editor is one of those unnecessarily confusing parts of Blender and something as a long time user I'm still unclear of the purpose of.
Personally, I would prefer if there was a preference such that any time a data block has zero users it would AUTOMATICALLY be protected. I understand that some users wouldn't want this, which is why it should just be a preference you can opt in to or not. I would MUCH prefer if there was absolutely no data that Blender was just getting rid of under the hood accidentally or otherwise.
1 Comment
Nice