← All ideas
  • Published 15 Jan 2026

Save As button

In the Blender File View box - in order to Save a File there is a 'Save As' button. It simply should read 'Save'.

This is subtle but can be misleading. From the main app when I chose File > Save As so I can rename/save the file[usually by file number increment] it takes me to the Blender File View Box. Several times I have hit the second 'Save As' button unconsciously which saves my file but with the unchanged name. Mildly frustrating. This is counter intuitive and may be an easy fix for the developers by changing the button text to 'Save' rather than 'Save As'. Thank you. I hope this is helpful.

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 1 Downvote 0
Tim-Buckett
15 Jan 2026

2 Comments

pablovazquez

Several times I have hit the second 'Save As' button unconsciously which saves my file but with the unchanged name.

Do you mean that it overwrites the file? Blender now warns you by replacing the "Save As" button with "Overwrite".

Tim-Buckett Author

Yes. It overwrites the file. Sorry for the delay. I use blender in focused bursts - a week or so - then off to other tasks. I just now found your comment. So I went out just now and tried first saving the general start project [cube & camera/lights] by selecting 'save as' [from the 'File' menu]and saved it as the default 'untitled'. I went back to 'save as' to save again - this time 'untitled' was highlighted in red and I hit 'save as' and it overwrote the prior version. So it is as I described. I did not see the button change to 'overwrite'. However - let me check which version I'm using. I only recently switched to post v2.79b as I did not want to tackle the learning curve in the past few years. I see I am using version 5.0.1. Thank you. Tim Buckett