Bring back the Save Over confirmation as an option
I've got 21 files named "crown scene v-##.blend" created over the course of 2 years.
I'll often open one like v-04 and make some tweaks and forget that I'm supposed to be doing "save as" v-22 or v-04-relight-2020 and instead I make the mistake of just pressing ctrl+s and it ruins my day.
If I could see this when I press ctrl+s it would have saved me several hours of confusion and frustration over the last 2 years.
What I've been doing (when I remember) is to set all existing .blend files in an old project folder as read-only when I think I'm finished with it. So now I'll get the "Cannot save blend file "path/to/file.blend" is not writeable" error which looks exactly the same as this screenshot.
2 Comments
In my opinion, this is a simple but important function. When working quickly, I have overwritten a file many times. Sooner or later, everyone will overwrite the file. Of course, you can work around this problem with backups, but it's a waste of valuable time.
Maybe remaping ctrl s to save as will help?