← All ideas
  • Published 27 Jun 2016

Improvements to "Clear restricted view" operator

When we press "alt + h" it clears the restricted view. One side effect of this is it also adds to the selection. The objects which were hidden (if you are working in object mode) or the vertices which were hidden (if in edit mode) get added to the current selection.

This makes life a bit difficult. Blender users need to use several workarounds if they want to preserve the selection and not add to it.

I would like to suggest that a simple checkbox be added to the "clear restricted view" operator. Something like "Preserve current selection". Where It would deselect items which were added to the selection after pressing alt + h.

Simplified example demonstrating the problem:

  1. Create an icosphere/ UV sphere
  2. Use box select to select a couple of vertices and hide it with 'h' shortcut
  3. Select one of the visible vertices.
  4. Press alt + h to clear restricted view.

The above will add all the hidden vertices(vertices box selected in step 2) to the selection in addition to the one selected vertex (in step 3). This means if I want to view the hidden part but not manipulate it I have one or more additional steps involved in making the selection right. I need to deselect the vertices which are now selected which were hidden and make sure all vertices which were selected before are still selected.

This could be avoided by just ticking the "Preserve current selection" checkbox so if the user wanted they could be left with everything visible and yet manipulate only the single vertex.

This does away with lengthy workarounds (Some are described below for reference). It also will not interfere with users who prefer the original default behaviour of "clear restricted view". Blenders strengths have always been its sheer flexibility. I would love this as one more such feature which makes Blender the great software it is.

Below are a few examples of workarounds users might currently use:

  1. In edit mode. Un hiding will add the hidden vertices to the currently selected vertices. One workaround for this is to create a temporary vertex group prior to unhiding. After unhiding we need to deselect all vertices and select the vertex groups vertices to get back the original section. Then finally we need to delete the temporary vertex group if its not needed. So here we add additional steps of creating and deleting a vertex group.

  2. In object mode. Supose we are working on an interior scene. We have a building, a false ceiling and some lights we want to place on the wall. Suppose we temporarily hide the false ceiling. And keep the walls. Then we move the lights correctly in relation to each other. Now we want to move the lights correctly in relation to the false ceiling after pressing alt + h the false ceiling gets added to the selection so now moving the lights moves the false ceiling too. Now one would think we could easily deselect the false ceiling and its all ok except the lights and other objects get in the way of deselecting the false ceiling so we need to locate the object in the outliner and deselect it. So it makes the process longer.

  3. In object mode another workaround would be to add the objects we want to a temporary group. So when we alt + h then we can go to the outliner choose groups and select the group and all its members after deselecting all this is quicker but it involves simply creating a temporary group.

  4. In object mode, another workaround would be to move particular objects to an empty layer. But this simply adds unnecessary shuffling and if we forget an object in another layer accidentally it may not render if its not active and we may need to re render.

All the above workarounds make 'clearing the restricted view' a bit of a headache when a scene has several objects. Work arounds are just that workarounds.

100%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 1 Downvote 0
arvindpinto90
27 Jun 2016

3 Comments

campbell

This is already accepted as a quick hack: developer.blender.org/T45230

1
jason

I don't personally mind this as an option, though I'd like to keep the current behavior as the default. There are more times when I need to have those hidden vertices selected upon unhiding than not.

arvindpinto90 Author

I specifically stated to keep the default behaviour but have this an option. I don't mind having to tick that option each time I need it as opposed to not having it at all. I most of the time want the behaviour where it does not add to the selection. But I do not want the default behaviour to change unless the general community are interested in making this the new default. Also the behavior in object and vertex mode is sort of consistent now. The lack of this feature becomes more troublesome in object mode where objects near another object make deselection of additional hidden (which are now visible and selected after alt + h) objects harder.

1