Display Version Check warning before opening a project file
The latest Blender 3.6 release is amazing! And now the development is moving towards adding even more groundbreaking features for the major 4.0 upgrade. Given the scope of such a big upgrade, naturally there will be a lot of breaking changes that will be not be compatible with previous versions.
I believe this would be the perfect time to implement some kind of version check warning before opening a project file in a different version of Blender.
The final version doesn't have to be as intimidating as this screenshot, but I hope you get the point.
A few implementation ideas :
-
A popup message should appear in a way that it is hard to miss (unlike the current warning message which disappears quickly)
-
The popup message should require intentional interaction from user - Proceed, Save As or Quit
-
This can be an optional feature which can be enabled in User Preferences, because it can be annoying to keep seeing it always (additionally, the user can set the preference of whether Blender should Proceed, Save As, or Quit in such future situations.)
Suggestions are welcome!
2 Comments
Thanks for the proposal. This is already being discussed in projects.blender.org/blender/blender/issues/109151
Thanks Pablo! This is exactly what I was asking for, with a lot more thought and love put into it ! Hope this gets done in time for 4.0