Please Allow Users to Choose Which Settings to Carry Over When Updating Blender
When updating Blender to a new version, the installer simply copies the userpref.blend file from the previous version as-is. This means users are limited to two options: "carry over everything" or "reconfigure everything from scratch."
It would be helpful if, during an update (or when using the manual import tool), a list of checkboxes like the one below were displayed, allowing users to select which categories to import:
- UI Theme / Interface Settings
- Keybindings
- Add-on List
- Add-on Settings
- Language
- System / Input Settings
- Other Settings
Being able to migrate settings selectively in this way helps users try out new settings in the latest version and keep the internal state clean by minimizing the number of settings carried over.
1 Comment
I've had an idea in the back of my head to make an add-on to essentially manage preferences across detected Blender installs, past and future, allowing to granularily select which kind of preferences to pass over specific Blender versions to another, in any direction, and allowing to specify addons individually too.
Though it'd be awesome if Blender offered such solution out of the box.