Protect Node Groups from Editing
When a node group has gotten to a point where you are happy with it, it would be nice to have a way to put an edit lock (like the lock icons for transforms in the N-panel, or layer locking in photo editing software). This can be enabled/disabled with a similar lock icon. The node group can still be opened and viewed, but editing would be disabled.
This data would reside with the node group such that duplicating it (not single-user) would also be locked. So you would have to consciously unlock it before editing it (and thus the original)
Making a locked node group single user would automatically unlock it.
This is not about making un-editable/proprietary groups. Rather a helper to keep a node user from shooting themselves in the foot.
3 Comments
This would be a neat feature ! But I'm wondering how to prevent confusion caused by a similar concept : the pin icon. Sometimes unknowingly users click on it (or would type the shortcut thinking they're doing something else) and wonder why their panels are stuck, causing confusion. How would this feature avoid this ? Using a differently colored overlay when going into the node group ? An overlay message ? Because I can already see the questions popping up with users wondering why their node groups are readonly, not noticing the lock icon on the node that they clicked on a while back without realizing it.
This is the same as using linked node assets
Within the same file?