← All ideas
  • Published 12 Nov 2019

Notification System - with "don't show again" checkbox

Certain functionality really might need to warn a user about certain aspects of that functionality. It would be good to have a 'notification system' that shows a popup message until the user chooses to opt-out of that particular message.

One such example is the "Apply All Transforms". This option seems very tempting, but typically is not the option that a user would want to perform as the "Location" typically should not be "applied" as it is simply moving the object origin back to world origin, which would then mess up a bunch of stuff. A warning here would be nice to indicate to the user that they might want to just apply rotation / scale. Instead of just doing here though, a better option would be to take this as an opportunity to introduce a notification system in blender for these situations.

0%

Development Status: Open

Upvote 0 Downvote 1
JeffG
12 Nov 2019

2 Comments

jason

This sounds really obtrusive. Where would you put such notifications in Blender's interface? Would it be a blocking pop-up? Which operations would you add it to?

JeffG Author

* @Jason van Gumster * - yeah, that's why the opt-out functionality though. The point here would be to help new users avoid mistakes that be hard to know until they go scrambling through forums. In this example, a new user is almost certain to choose "Apply All Transforms" instead of "Apply Rotation / Scale". Agreed that the use of said functionality should be minimized, but there are definitely areas where new users can avoid major confusion by some helper notifications. Maybe a global option as well to disable all helper tips for more advanced users.