Making selection changes not trigger the "unsaved" status asterisk
This bugs me a lot.
Changing selection is tracked in history, and that's fine. But then, since is a new history status, it gets detected as a change in the file, therefore your file has the *asterisk that tells it (potentially) needs to be saved.
This is uncomfortable because I often have more than one Blender instance opened, and work with more files at the same times. So it's easy to lose track of changes I saved or not.
Having to save "to be sure" when there's no need is bad imho, because you lose one blend slot of backups for nothing.
Also you are bugged with the save prompt when you quit Blender even if there's no need.
I leave open for debate if changing selection is something important to be saved along with the file.
At least it would be nice to have in Preferences>Save&Load a
"Ignore Selection Changes"
checkmark.
See also:
Save "checkmarks" in history list
0 Comments